National Merit Scholars announced



In October of 2011 approximately 1.5 million high schoolers across the country took the Preliminary SAT (PSAT). After meeting rigorous qualifications for the exam, thirty-one New Trier students have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program competition.
Taking the PSAT/NMSQT, a test measuring reading, mathematics and writing skills, qualifies students for the prestigious nationwide competition that brings recognition and significant scholarships for its finalists.
Among the 50,000 highest scores, 16,000 surpassed the cutoff to be named as semifinalists, while the 34,000 other entrants received a “commended student” honor.
Thirty-seven entrants from New Trier qualified to be semifinalists by achieving a score the PSAT/NMSQT selection index designates at the cutoff. Last year it was 216 or greater with thirty-four finalists from New Trier.
In February, some 15,000 semifinalists nationwide were notified that they had advanced to finalist standing. To advance they had to be endorsed by their high school principal, have a record of consistently very high academic performance throughout high school, and earn scores on the SAT that confirmed their 2011 PSAT/NMSQT performance.
Six New Trier students were either cut or withdrew themselves from the competition at this stage.
The thirty-one finalists are part of approximately 8,300 of the 15,000 finalists who will be given three types of Merit Scholarships based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments, and without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.
The first scholarship is a $2,500 single payment awarded on a state representational basis that does not consider family financial circumstances, college choice, or major and career plans.
The second is corporate-sponsored that incentivizes finalists with career plans in the sponsoring company with these awards.
The third is college-sponsored that selects winners who have been accepted for admission at a particular university.

New Trier’s National Merit Finalists:

Courtney Ackerman
Rose Al Abosy
Hayley Bounds
Caroline Chen
Eric Chen
Flannery Dolan
Constance Gong
Madeline Hack
Margaret Hall
Griffin Harris
Rong Hu
Meredith Hyun
Elizabeth Joyce
Audrey Mang
Dawson Mills
Patrick O’Connor

Patrick O’Reilly

Emma Office
John Pietrowicz
William Robinson
Benjamin Stempel
Joyce Sun
Sydney Tan
Arthur Tsang
Sonya Vohra
Rachel Watkin
Eliza Weaver
Miranda Wei
Cailin Whisler
Emma Wold
Julia Wolf